Houston Alumnae Panhellenic Association



In 1929, the Houston Alumnae Panhellenic Association (HAPA) was organized by the partnership of 21 sororities, affiliating with the National Panhellenic Conference (NPC) (now grown to 26 member sororities).  These women established a sorority system based on education, leadership, achievement, and philanthropy.  Today, HAPA's membership tips the scales at more than 5,000.

The Houston Alumnae Panhellenic Association promotes fraternity life through service to the community and the deep friendship of individual sorority and panhellenic life.

In addition to their work with the Houston Alumnae Panhellenic Foundation, HAPA members participate in other community service projects, including the Reading Is Fundamental (RIF) program at Spring Branch Elementary School.  HAPA members support this literacy initiative by volunteering their time and financial resources.

Every year HAPA sponsors Recruitment Roundtable.  The purpose of this annual recruitment information event is to encourage participation in the recruitment and membership process, to educate prospective new members, and to answer questions regarding the women's fraternity system.

HAPA Board

Pictured are HAPA Board Members:  (Back/Top) Connie Zieba, Analyn Anderson Lee, Sandy Lewis, Karen Roush, Alicia Gist, Susan Banks (Second row from top) Grace Anne Baker, Pam Staples, Sue Brennig, Jolyn Scheirman, Joan Warburton, Carol Coleman, Artie Crawford, Toni Post, Lorie Coffelt, Marcy Cann, Debbie Jones, Robin Ward (Second row from bottom/Sitting) Kay Newman, Linda Porter, Pam Jarrett, Judy Harwell, Lyn Flynt, Shirley Kraus (Bottom/sitting on ground) Barbara Upchurch, Diane Thornton, Joni Landon, Sarah Bellanfant

Houston Alumnae Panhellenic Association (HAPA)

*  Comprised of 21 women's fraternities with a total membership of over 5,000 women.
*  The Association was established to promote education, leadership, achievement, and philanthropy.
*  HAPA members support the
Reading is Fundamental program at Spring Branch Elementary School, with volunteer time and financial resources.
*  Each Spring, HAPA and its Foundation, sponsors a luncheon to help raise scholarship funds for deserving women who are members of National Panhellenic Conference (NPC) sorority chapters.  Scholarships are based primarily on financial need and leadership in the college community.
*  HAPA supports the Houston Alumnae Panhellenic Foundation, which is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization that oversees the collection and care of scholarship donations, scholarship selection, and distribution of funds.



Adopted March 2, 2005

The Houston Alumnae Panhellenic Association (HAPA) exists to provide charitable, educational, and social opportunities for Houston-area alumnae and collegiate members of the 26 National Panhellenic Conference sororities and fraternities.  HAPA's specific activities include educating prospective members on the positive aspects of Greek life, promoting the community involvement of our members through the "Reading Is Fundamental" literacy program, and providing various programs to facilitate the ongoing fellowship and education of our members.


Serving as HAPA webmaster is Connie Zieba, Alpha Gamma Delta.  Past webmasters include Carol Coleman, Phi Mu, 2005-2009. 

The web site was created in 1999 by several volunteers who came together to create a site serving Houston Panhellenic and its Foundation.

  Connie Zieba

Site Recognition

Houston Alumnae Panhellenic and Anna K. Chase Foundation
Website Ad-Hoc Committee


The Houston Alumnae Panhellenic Association and the Anna K. Chase Foundation gratefully acknowledge the following women for their contributions to this web site.

Monica Robinson, Designer, Kappa Alpha Theta

Hilary FitzHugh, Chair, Alpha Gamma Delta

Kay Newman, President, Delta Gamma
Laura Ashley, Rush Chair, Alpha Delta Pi
Cindy Balderach, Immediate Past Chair, Rush, Kappa Alpha Theta
Sue Brennig, Honorary Board Member, Kappa Kappa Gamma
Ann Epler, Rush Information Co-Chair, Delta Delta Delta
Carol Peden, Altruistic Co-Chair, Alpha Delta Pi
Barbara Raines, Rush Information Co-Chair, Alpha Chi Omega
Judy Schudy, Immediate Past Chair, Ways and Means Committee, Delta Delta Delta
Judy Rose, Alpha Omicron Pi
Pat Shuford, Pi Beta Phi
Kimberly Morgan

Lyn Flynt, Honorary Board Member, Alpha Phi
Rie Hoehner, National Panhellenic Conference (NPC) Area Advisor, Alpha Gamma Delta
Tina Lundy Melo, Attorney, Kappa Delta
Candace Turner, Anna K. Chase Foundation President, Phi Mu

Special Thanks
Pippa Rolandelli
May 18, 2001

*     The Anna K. Chase Foundation is now known as the Houston Alumnae Panhellenic Foundation (HAPF)
**  "Rush" is now known as "Recruitment"